Goodbye To A World and the People Inhabiting It

Once upon a time, when I was a young girl, I had a dream of a world unlike our own. It was inhabited by a collection of people that kept a secret.

I woke from that dream with this undeniable need to write. I was 12 or 13 and up until that point I had never had that much of a craving for it. I enjoyed it in school but, despite one idea that I had and worked on for a bit (but tragically lost when the Zip Drive it was on got corrupted). But even that came first from a homework assignment.

But after that dream I hid out in the little teepee I had in my bedroom and wrote.

And wrote.

Before the end of that day I had two notebooks full of scenes. It started with what I had seen in my dream and went far beyond that.

That day was the day I realized I wanted to be a writer.

Over the years, that initial spark never died. I wrote probably 75,000 words on that original idea. But then I realized the next part of being a writer: editing and rewriting.

That original idea is what brought me to Goddess Born. The original idea is sitting plotted, but unfinished in my house. It has moved with me in its original notebooks. And has been put into the cloud digitally.

I have several ideas for stories in that world but the only one I completed was Goddess Born.

But another lesson I’ve learned, one that is bittersweet and hard, is that even though that world is my baby I have to let it go.

There was a time that I thought that world was all I had in me. Those thoughts haunted me and really kept me from writing for longer than I’d care to admit. I clutched that world close with greedy fingers, I pushed it on others in an almost manic desperation for approval.

But my year off from writing, that year for me started opening up my eyes to the scary realization that it was time to say goodbye.

Those characters are my babies, that world a second home, how could I say goodbye so casually.

This blog has been a focus on that world, those characters, but now it will be a focus on the other worlds brewing in my mind. New characters are itching to be born. And here you will see that journey.

So here is my goodbye. Goodbye to Lynn and all her troubles. Goodbye to Selene and her sacrifices. Goodbye to Felidae and their secrets. Goodbye to Calypsa and her need for revenge. Goosbye to Tespion and the adventureyou took me on.

Goodbye to all the people too numerous to count.

As the tears flow freely, I’ll end this post.

On to some new adventures.

A Whisper In The Ear

