Oops… I did it again…

3d Penguin with "Oops" sign

Is that song stuck in your head now?

 

So, anyways on to the blog, a few years I entered the Zebulon contest put on by PPW. I received some pretty good feedback on my entry and I took it all to heart and was excited that someone seemed genuinely interested in the story despite it looking like it needed work I knew it needed work when I entered it (doesn’t every story need work even when we decide it’s “finished”?”

 

Well, this year I decided to enter it again. Trying to get everything out of PPWC this coming year as I can. I thought I would talk a little about the contest. I really did mean to get this posted before the contest ended but I lost track of time with holidays and NaNo and ALL THE THINGS. But I hope this might spark some interest in you, my lovely readers, to try to enter something next year.

 

The contest usually runs from about mid-September to the beginning of November. They do usually limit the number of entries, so you may want to make sure you get in on it as soon as possible just in case. Visit the site above to check out the rules (especially closer to the dates to see if there are any new requirements). One I’ll mention here because I know that all of you aren’t necessarily novel writers. It is for full length, unpublished works.

 

A few fun things about it:

  • If you win first place in the category you enter you could find yourself getting to go to PPWC at no cost. If that doesn’t work for you there is a monetary reward for first, second and third.
  • You can opt-in for additional critiques so that you get multiple opinions on the pieces you submitted.
  • The process is very similar to your regular querying process and is divided into rounds (the first being the query round where the agent reads your query and gives you points, if you earn enough you move on to the next round of them reading your synopsis and first 2,500 words, if you beat out the rest you enter the final round where the judges decide on the top three).
  • They have actually set up a very detailed virtual agency with about six virtual agents (who are represented by actual agents, publishers, editors, authors, etc.) who have their own profiles and everything set up so you can flush out your query to be specific to their wants.
  • If you do get to be one of those winners (I know you can do it!) then you get first choice of query appointments, read and critiques, and seating at meals. This is a pretty awesome perk.
  • You get recognized at the banquet during conference.

 

Woo hoo for fun things! Definitely check out the website for more details about the specifics and hopefully you’ll take a chance on it.

 

This whole process leaves me all sorts of nervous-excited and I can’t wait to see what the results are when they’re all sent out in March/April.

 

Have you entered any contests? Do you have a personal favorite recurring contest?

A Whisper In The Ear

