Of Secrets and Plans…

So, some of you that follow me on other social medias know that one of the big things that I have been working on these last several months is trying to figure out budgeting in a way that works with me and my life.

 

Things have gotten pretty well set up in a way that I’ve been able to plan things out in a better way.

fab224780bc726e0982e0e89aa5e9514

So what does that have to do with secrets or plans? Well, in the end, 2017 is going to be full of excitement and sort of experimental year. It is really going to put my budgeting to the test.

I’M GOING TO TWO CONFERENCES NEXT YEAR!!!

Or at least that’s the plan. Usually this time of year I debate between two o the conferences that are close by (or basically the two conferences I know that a bunch of my writerly friends go to). Usually PPWC has won out every single time because it was the first place I went and it’s like family.

The Colorado Gold Conference (put on by Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers) is still an amazing conference that offers similar things to PPWC and the only reason that really stopped me was he fact that I didn’t have the money to go to both so I let my heart lead me to PPWC each year.

So with my crazy begetting and as long as nothing else breaks (I’ve not had good luck when it comes to appliances this year) it should all work out for me to go to both! So, yay!

But why do two conferences rather than put that extra money to something else?

Well there are a couple of reasons that swayed me outside of the standard “I have money, weeeee!”

First — those friends that I’ve talked about before. My writing family, friends that I’ve mae through the years that go to Colorado Gold now or more often than PPWC so it’ll be nice to reconnect with some o those people who I haven’t seen in a couple of years.

Second — the keynotes this year made me really thing about planning to go to both as well! They’re always great, just like PPWC, but this year there is an author that I’ve read for so, so many years and they are going to be a keynote this year at Colorado Gold. I have seen this author at signings but I am excited to see her speak on the writing side of things.

Third — location played a key part in making this feel “okay” to do to conferences this year. Being a single car family right now, it was a little more complicated planning on travel arrangements to the Springs and back. Colorado Gold takes place in Denver so it was more feasible dealing with travel arrangements.

And finally the last reason for finally pushing me into the “YES!” category is all about timing. PPWC takes place at the end of April and Colorado Gold takes place at the beginning of September. This gives me plenty of time to make sure my budget is all set for both events.

This is a test to see if this is going to be something I can do more than once.

I’m excited for all of this to fall into place. So, just like with PPWC, look for updates about the keynotes, workshops and recaps as things get closer.

What are your conference plans for 2017?

A Whisper In The Ear

