NaNo Week 4

finishline

Alright, NaNoers, we’re reaching the end stretch here. We have three days. I hope all of you are getting close to your goals, whether they be the 50K that NaNo looks for or any other personal goals you’ve set for November.

My biggest goal for this November was to get my butt writing.

I accomplished that goal.

Not only did I accomplish it but I feel back in a good groove to keep it going. To not just use November as a reason to write but to start myself on a pattern and to stick to it. I can do this, I can write and keep it going without issues.

But I know some of you want to know where things stand right now:

November 21-27 Goal: 11,669

November 21-27 Actual: 8,005 (but this is without my actuall words tonight. I hope to get a couple thousand in tonight but we’ll see what happens.)

Total goal end of week 4: 45,009

Actual word count end of week 4: 47,274

 

Obviously still a little ahead of schedule. I would love to actually hit 50K tonight, but I’m not in a hurry. I want to “win” NaNo and hit the 50K by the 30th and since I have less than 3,000 left I think that is totally able to be accomplished.

The book won’t be finished. I still have a good 20K to 25K left to write to round out the end, but it is getting there. I’m getting into the fun stuff. Where plans are falling into place and completely falling apart for my MCs. I can’t wait to torture them and push them as far as they’ll let me.

One of my biggest concerns is that this story is supposed to be YA and there are definitely a couple scenes that are really pushing that line. Really trying to keep things within those classic lines and a little editing can really help. I need a refresher on the YA genre again before I jump into editing on this little treasure. I need to dive into some of my notes on previous workshops and just start reading some YA again to get back in that headspace.

Can I take some of those borderline scenes out and keep the integrity of the story?

Probably.

Will it take some of the things I find necessary out?

Probably.

But I will make this story work.

 

Anyways, this got pretty much on the rambling path so I am going to wrap this up. I hope your writing is going well!

Next week will be the final recap and I hope I can give you some goals that I have going forward.

I love you all and, in the spirit of the season, am thankful for all of you!

A Whisper In The Ear

