NaNo Week 1

So, with the first week of NaNo under wraps I’ve found a pattern that seems to be working out for me very well. Hopefully I can keep the momentum up to get these words kicked in the butt.

Here’s where I stand:

November 1-6 Goal — 10,002 words

November 1-6 Actual — 13,326** words.

 

As you can see: I’ve exceeded the goal. I’m pretty proud of that because I did have a “no words” day which was yesterday with all the running around and everything. I was so dead tired after working and a baby shower that even though I opened up my laptop and had the document in front of me, I found myself staring at it for almost an hour blinking in and out of awareness because I was just too tired to concentrate on putting words together.

The process that has been working on me so far for me is this:

  • I’ve been waking up anywhere from 30 to 60 minutes earlier than normal to get some words in before work.
  • Spending most of my hour lunch getting words in.

Right now the words are flowing well and I am really excited that I started in on this story as the project for NaNo because I am enjoying it so much. I have their voices down and this has, so far, been a pretty fluid story. I’ve had a couple road blocks that I’ll probably come back and fix but I’ve mostly just been letting it write itself.

I’ve already had to re-do my outline to account for changes that have come up with just writing. Which is what I like to see. I like to see that outline ever-evolving because I love to see the story write itself.

That’s why I don’t like writing really in-depth outlines.

Anyways, how are you guys that are doing NaNo handling it? Have you found a pattern or process that works best for you? Are you a little under goal, at goal, or past goal?

Keep truckin’ and I’ll talk to you next time!

** This is my word count as of this morning, I plan to have more words done by this evening.

A Whisper In The Ear

