NaNoWriMo

For those of you not in the know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. It is for those of us that want to set goals and write and try to accomplish what can sometimes be difficult. The goal is to write 50,000 words in the month of November. This comes out to being about 1,667 words a day. For those of us that don’t have a lot of free time it can be a chore to get that many words in. Even those of us that have the spare time can sometimes struggle.

My goal this November is to definitely hit (and hopefully exceed) those word count goals. I’m only going to be focusing my word counts on a specific project, though I hope to also get some words in here and start getting on a pattern of getting these posts in for you guys to enjoy. I need to get back into a more consistent groove of getting writing done. I need to get words on paper.

So with all these projects I have floating in my head, I’ve focused on just one. It is a young adult novel about dragons and time. Two main characters that and the chapters switch off, similar to how Marie Lu has her Legend series going between two main characters. I don’t think I’ll do it to her level of completely switching point of view styles. A little too out of my realm of comfort for this project.

I’m excited. I’ve been thinking about this project for awhile and this will get me in the direction of having it completed sometime this year.

I’m trying to get a routine in where I wake up an hour early and write. It worked, somewhat, today. So hopefully I get enough sleep and don’t just repeatedly hit the snooze button.

For the blog I hope to get you guys some weekly updates on my progress and where things stand on goals and how I’m hitting them. Hopefully they’re all positive. Hopefully I can hit the 50,000 word goal faster than a month and be back in my groove of writing.

 

Happy writing to all of you doing NaNoWriMo for November. If you want to find me on the website, my name is under CaraMiaAmore. We can be buddies and keep track of each other!

A Whisper In The Ear

