“Focus On Being Productive Instead of Busy.”

The title of today’s post is a quote from someone named Tim Ferris, found it on Google and I was just using it because I was going to sit her and introduce this post by complaining how busy I was.

 

I don’t have a set schedule because obviously the last time I set one of those I failed, miserably, but in my mind I had a plan to be posting at least once a week, preferably of Mondays. Well, as you can see, I missed this last Monday. And sure, the reasoning was that I was busier then not but that isn’t an excuse. Life was jumping in the way this weekend because I got a promotion at work (yay me!) but that meant a different schedule. Also had a sick/teething baby that distracted me a lot this weekend (not to mention I love that little girl and getting time with her). So it completely slipped my mind that I really should have had a post ready to go up on Monday.

 

I also didn’t have anything planned for a post, so that sort of hindered the writing process. But! We’re going to be productive, not make excuses.

 

So I sat here, staring at a white screen trying to get this written and couldn’t think of a post that wasn’t just “oh, woe is me, I am always busy.” Then I decided to stick to the trend of talking to you about my writing processes or whatnots. Soooo, what we’re going to do is talk to you about what I have on me, mostly on a regular basis, in case I get spare time for writing.

20160317_134013_HDR

I was out shopping one day while trying to find a method of transporting my writing things with me that would conveniently fit into my purse. Most standard binders tend to be too big and note books don’t have a good method of holding the rest of the papers I have. So I came across this note-binder thingy. Basically, it’s made by Five Star (who I’m not writing this for — I just want to make it easy for others to see what I’m using) and its set up to have the look and feel of a notebook, keeping it the same size-ish of their standard multi-subject notebooks. What I love about it is that instead of the standard spiral binding it has three rings (like a binder!) that can be opened and closed. So instead of being limited to what is bound in, you have the freedom to add and remove things like you would with a standard binder.

 

It has been awhile since I originally got one but I believe when you first get it, the note-binder comes with a few extra accessories as well like tabbed pages and some paper. I change mine up a bit, which I’ll show you now.

20160317_134022_HDR

So, one of the things that rock about this product is that the binder rings don’t only open on the inside. You can actually open the rings from the outside. So because this product doesn’t have a pocket on the front, what I did is use yet another favorite product of mine: heavy-duty sheet protectors. What I keep in this front sheet protector are things I am currently working on. I keep my current goals, things I want to accomplish soonest. Behind the goal list is the papers and information that I need for the goals that are on that list.

 

20160317_134037_HDR

Getting to the inside of the note-binder, the first section of this binder is group of a bunch of more sheet protectors. Why I love sheet protectors? Because you keep things gathered together for projects without worrying about pages tearing out like in a regular binder, or having to open and close the rings each time I need to move something. I can move a project around in one chunk by taking the sheet protector out with all the paper inside. Granted, they aren’t endless, so if you have large projects this may not be the best option for you.

 

Also in the picture you can see my tabs on the the sheet protector. I like using self stick tabs like the ones that post it does because they’re heavy duty and don’t get all bent up. It helps to sort my projects and I don’t have to buy a ton of insertable ones that just take up space without doing anything.

 

20160317_134104_HDR

So behind all of the project pages I have check lists for most if not all of the different projects in sheet protectors. Again, I used the self-sticking tabs to organize but this time used them along the top so I can find them along the top. I love using graph paper for check lists because I can make little boxes and still have lines to make it at least a bit straight.

Other then that, I have a bunch of other things in there:

  • Lined paper — for the obvious notes or just writing in general.
  • Graph paper — new checklists or goals lists.
  • Sheet protectors — if I add another idea that needs a pocket of its own rather then the catch all one that holds ideas that hasn’t been plotted out.
  • Articles — Right now I have a few articles on writing. I keep them in the back of this binder for reading in case I need them or want to read something industry-wise. Right now I have a few web articles on writing queries and synopsis because those are some of my goals right now.

 

A few other things I love about this system:

  • There are different sizes of these note-binder things, just like a regular binder.
  • It has a soft binding so you can open and fold the cover over like you would with a notebook. Which is awesome when trying to write notes so you don’t either need to spread a giant binder across your desk or take it out to write comfortably. Since I handwrite things a lot of the times, I like this feature.
  • It fits nicely in my purses and laptop bag — I like the ability to move it from one bag to another without much worry that it won’t fit. If the bag is big enough to hold a notebook, then I’m good to go. This used to be a problem when I used a hard back binder or portfolio.

 

Well! That’s it for today, hope you enjoyed a look into how I organize things.

 

How do you organize your writing? Any fun or cool tips?

A Whisper In The Ear

