J is for …

Juggling!

Hey guys, and welcome back for the current installment of the April A to Z Challenge. Sorry about the late post for “I” yesterday, had some family things that needed to be taken care of and ended up forgetting to come on and post it since I forgot to schedule my letter I.

But let us get back to the word at hand: juggling. I’ve talked about this before, so I am going to try and keep this brief. Or at least as brief as my rambling mind can be when I am trying to get words down.

Most writers, at least the ones I talk to and the ones that I work with, can say we do a lot of juggling in our chosen line of work. I know I definitely do. Not many of the writers that I know are able to just write where they have no outside interruptions.

I have several parts of my life I juggle: being a mom, being a wife, being a writer, working a full time job, and that nearly invisible hat right now of wanting to go back to school. Then each of those main hats that I wear and juggle around, have little pieces inside that I have to juggle as well: field trips, shopping, cleaning, laundry, homework, mandatory extra time at work, blogging, social media, novel writing. And I’m not a published author, I’ve seen how many more balls are thrown in the mix when you try to get published. There is a lot more to do like deadlines and signings and such. And I kind of look forward to the day when those extra balls get thrown into the mix of things that I juggle.

So when you are juggling all your hats and balls, what happens? Do you get overwhelmed? Do you have a special way of de-stressing when it comes out and overwhelms you? Let me know!

And for some other J words for you I have:

  • Judgment: So, I think this is my biggest stress-causer in my writing life. I am that kind of person that really looks for getting positive feedback, and hope that I can always please the people I am around. Not the healthiest way to live – especially since you can’t please everyone and I am working on that. But I am slowly growing a thicker skin, especially with this critiquing I have been trying to do more of. How are you dealing with those that judge you and your work?

Take care and we’ll see you tomorrow!

Cara Mia Amore

Click here for the blog hop

5 thoughts on “J is for …

  1. Hello! When people judge my work or career choice, I ignore it. Judgment comes from lack of understanding. They don’t understand, which is their problem, so there’s no reason to take it personally. I love my choice as a writer and I’m happy with it no matter what others think!

    Good luck with everything! Hope you’re having a great weekend and happy A to Z!!

  2. It’s very hard to juggle writing with a full time job and a home and school. We finally made the choice to have a bit less income so I can write, but not all families have that kind option. We’re fortunate.

    But hang in there. You’ll always find time to do what’s important ;o)

  3. There certainly is a lot of juggling for writers, and deciding which balls to pick up can be the hardest part. I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs this month. My alphabet is at myqualityday.blogspot.com

  4. Judgement is not something I struggle with (in fact, I crave it!). But juggling is a completely different story! Yes, I get overwhelmed. Usually, my method of coping involves pushing through it, even when I just want to run far from it. I know if I just take a break when it’s all overwhelming me, the next day it will be overhwelming me even more. So a day of pushing myself really hard actually makes the overwhelmedness go away the easiest.

A Whisper In The Ear

