I is for … (sorry that it is late!)

Introverted!

I have had a hard time breaking out of this shell that I have built around me. For the past year or so I have really been trying to put myself out there and explore the world around me. To talk to people even when I’m nervous to do so, and make sure I’m not just hiding in a corner.

If you have read any of my entries before, you know that for a long time writing was a very personal, very alone process for me. I rarely shared my work, even to my family. I was scared that they would think it was stupid. Then one day my husband asked to read what I write, and I didn’t want to say no. I wanted to share it with someone even though I was nervous to see what he thought of it.

When that started happening, something lit up inside of me. That light bulb they always talk about going off when you have a revelation. I realized that I really wanted to be part of the community of writers I’ve always read. So I started going out there and blogging, being on Twitter, talking to other authors and agents. Going to readings and signings and doing critiquing. It was a big step.

So am I still introverted? Yes, I still prefer my own company to others; I still do hide away a lot and get nervous in big groups. But I like to think I am a little more extroverted then I ever was before.

Here is another I word for you:

  • Inspiration: This is something I think all writers look to find. In all honesty you can get a spark of inspiration from anything, but it may not always be the spark you want, or fits what you need. This kind of goes back to the whole conversation a few days ago about being blocked. Inspiration is one way of getting rid of that block.

I think that’s all I want to talk about. So I’ll see you guys tomorrow!

 Cara Mia Amore

Click here for the blog hop

2 thoughts on “I is for … (sorry that it is late!)

    • Yeah, it can definitely bite you in the butt if you aren’t careful. I’ve been working at — slowly — breaking out of my shell. This conference next week really is the biggest step I have taken to putting myself in a situation where I really need to be social to really get what I can out of the conference.

      Thanks for stopping in again!

      Cara

A Whisper In The Ear

