C is for…

Conferences!

If any of my actual readers didn’t see that one coming… you haven’t really been reading the blog.

 

One of the most exciting decisions I made this year (actually last year) was that I wanted to go to a writer’s conference. I wanted to learn my craft and everything that a conference could show me about it. I wanted to meet other writers near me that I could socialize with outside of the conference.

 

I found a conference that was close to me, one that I wouldn’t have to worry about the added expense of hotel stays – because yikes, hotels are expensive. It is the Pike’s Peak Writer’s Conference and it will be taking place on April 19th thru April 22nd. Four days of workshops and fun! It looks like it is going to be a great first conference for me to go to.

 

As a writer, I think we all need to take the time to socialize with those in our fields and we should always be looking to further our education on our craft. I think conferences are a great way to do all of that and more.

 

My goal for this April’s conference is to learn. I’m not at that stage in my writing where pitching and querying is really going to be something I’ll be able to do successfully – my current manuscript is no where near ready to be read with the intent of publication, and none of my previous ones are at that stage either. I’ll be networking, meeting people in the industry I hope to be a part of in the future.

 

According to the brochure, there will be some names I recognize from Twitter and blogs I read and follow, so that will be exciting. We’ll see if their online personalities match their in person personalities.

 

There is one thing that makes me nervous about the conference. I am so very introverted – it seems I’m not the only author that claims that – and I am worried that I won’t be able to break out of my shell enough to make this a fun experience. Anyone have any suggestions?

 

Oh, and there’s a costume party. Someone suggested Snow White to me, especially with so many new versions this year. But I don’t know if I still want to stick with that. So we’ll see. Anyone have any suggestions there?

 

I think we’ll want to move on to the other C words today, I’ve rambled enough on the subject of conferences.

  • Creativity: What shall I say about creativity? Nothing big I don’t think. Just that this is the base of a writer. The ability to use that creative thinking process and spill forth stories of world not necessarily like our own. Anything to spark creativity is awesome.
  • Classes: I think this kind of goes hand in hand with the main topic of the day. As a writer, I think the ability for us to continue our education is the coolest thing. What is so cool about writing is that we are open to learning EVERYTHING. That curiosity (Ooo another good C word) helps that writing process. Think about when you are writing, you have to know the subject you are writing about. So we learn the best we can: research! With technology these days, knowledge is really just a click away. A nice thing about conferences is they offer classes – a.k.a. workshops – where you can learn about your craft, your genre, the industry itself. You are furthering your knowledge.
  • Censorship: This has been a HUGE topic this year. With SOPA and all those fun bills that congress has been trying to pass. Censorship is a scary thing. It starts to tease against those First Amendment rights. Especially in regards to the Internet when we all speak our mind so freely on social networking sites like Twitter, Facebook and all those wonderful blogging sites. I will always, 100% of the time, be against censorship. Then you go into the idea of banned books – a scary thought – and the idea that anyone should want to ban books. They are free thought, and you have every right not to pick it up or read it yourself. Or, if you feel it is necessary, you can even block what your family members read. But don’t try to get rid of them completely. A fun tidbit of information is that during banned book month my oldest daughter had her science fair and it was set up in their library. They had a display of banned books with a giant, bolded sign that said “FEEL FREE TO CHECK THESE BOOKS OUT”. That was the coolest moment ever.
  • Critiques and Critique Circle: So an addiction I have, that I’ve kind of stepped away for a little while to get actual writing done, is critiquing. I love helping people and giving my opinion. And I love to hear the opinions of others on my own work. Critique Circle is a website that gives you the chance to work for your critiques. You are allowed to submit work when you have enough points and you earn points by critiquing the work of others. I think it is a nice win-win situation. People don’t abuse the system. They also have a tit-for-tat section that shows who you owe critiques to and who owes you a critique. It’s fun. Go join!
  • Clara: Now we go from topics to people. This is my youngest daughter. Another wild-child that has a mind of her own. She is at that stage in life where everything is a story. She loves to tell stories and make what she calls “scrolls” (which are stories written out on rolled up paper) and then share them with all of us. It’s awesome to know she is so enthralled with that story telling attitude. I hope she keeps it.
  • Conall: This is our first fictional character for our C’s today. Conall is an 18 year old Dallian boy. Unofficially adopted by King Ant’llen. He has magic and he is later grouped up with Aislynn and her group. Is in deep like with Aislynn. Aislynn is drawn to him as a friend, is there something
  • Calypsa: Bad guy number one. A goddess stuck in their world and unable to get her full range of magic. She also happens to be the mother of Aislynn’s father. Oh and Aislynn has access to Calypsa’s magic, the magic she can’t get to herself. Can we say family issues?
  • Cadeyrn: Bad guy number two. He is Dallian and one of the rebellion leaders. Calypsa has joined up with Cadeyrn to bring a war to pass. One where she can use him to destroy who holds her powers (Aislynn). He’s a jerk and chauvinistic and I am really trying to find a good ground for him to stand on. Right now he is a little painted as a footstool with an attitude. I want him to be in a little more control then he shows as being, but his voice has been quiet during the writing process.
  • Cats: Okay, so this is a LAME word. Right now it is really a stand in for Aislynn’s people – those that are forced to change into Cats. Help me come up with a term? Please?

 

That’s it for today. Have a good one and we’ll see you tomorrow.

Cara Mia Amore

Click here for the blog roll and the sign up list

4 thoughts on “C is for…

  1. Perhaps instead of making a word from Cats, you might consider using some form of Feline?

    I’ve wanted to attend a writer’s conference myself, but that introvert thing– add to it a healthy dose of shyness that manifests in two equally horrific forms and yeah. That’s why I haven’t yet.

    • I was so scared that I would be too shy or introverted to really get something out of the conference I am going to, but I’m going to throw myself out there (with a wonderful push from my husband). I hope you can one day too! Because the excitement is making it worth it so far. We’ll see how it goes next week when I’m actually there.

      I’ve thought of using some form of the word feline, just haven’t found one that fits what I’m going for yet.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’ve never been to a writers conference yet, but it would be interesting. I know a few bloggers who are going to Pikes Peak including one of the A to Z co-hosts–I think it’s Shannon. Have fun!

    Lee
    An A to Z Co-Host
    Tossing It Out

    • Cool about some of the bloggers that have been to the Pikes Peak conference, I’ve seen a few on the list that I recognized from following before and have enjoyed seeing what people say about this particular conference.

      I’m so excited to go (about a week left now) so we shall see how I feel when I get there. I was nervous about being so introverted, but I’m hoping that won’t stop me from experiencing all I can from the conference.

      Thanks for stopping by!

A Whisper In The Ear

